
REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE  
ORLEANS PARISH, NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 

 The Orleans Parish Marriage License Office is located at Benson Tower, 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 407, in downtown 

New Orleans. Licenses are issued between 8:15 a.m. and 3:15 p.m., Monday through Friday (excluding state holidays). 

The licenses are valid in any parish in the State of Louisiana. 

Orleans Parish Marriage Licenses may also be purchased at the Second City Court of New Orleans in the Historic Algiers 

Courthouse at 225 Morgan Street in Algiers. Licenses are issued between 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday 

(excluding state holidays). 

In order to apply for a marriage license, both parties must be present and present all required documents. If a party is 

absent, the application will only be accepted if their signature on the application has been separately notarized. If the 

absent party is a member of the US armed forces, a copy of a military ID can be accepted in lieu of a signature, but at 

least one party’s in-person signature is required to submit an application. 

Applicants must present the following:  

1. A current driver's license, current state ID or passport.  

2. A certified copy of a birth certificate or a certified birth card for both parties. (A certified translation must be 

attached, if the birth certificate is not in English.)  If not born in the US or a US territory, the applicant(s) must also 

present a valid passport or a visa with attached I-94 form.  

3. Both applicants must provide their Social Security numbers if born in the United States. If not born in the US or 

a US territory, the applicant(s) must present a valid passport from their country of birth or a visa with attached I-

94 form.   

4. If either party has been divorced, the individual must provide a certified copy of the final divorce decree. A 

widow or widower must provide a certified copy the death certificate of the former spouse when they apply 

for a license to marry.  

5. Fees of $27.50 payable by cash, check, or money order only (non-refundable), plus $5 for each certified copy of 

the marriage certificate desired by the customer. CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR PAYMENT.  

An Application to Obtain an Orleans Parish Marriage License is available and may be completed by the parties prior to 

applying in person.  

72-Hour Waiting Period  

 A 72-hour waiting period is required by law between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony.  

 Judges of the First or Second City Courts are authorized by law to waive the waiting period for Louisiana 

residents and they can do this during their Monday-Friday hours of operation ONLY.  

 If both parties reside outside of Louisiana and the services will occur in Orleans parish AND be performed by a 

registered Orleans officiant, that officiant can waive this waiting period.  

The waiver must be attached to the completed marriage certificate when it is returned to Vital Records. 

Marriage under the age of 18 is prohibited by law, except as follows: Applicants over the age of 16 but less than 18 must 

have the signed consent of both parents or an order from a Judge of Juvenile Court. Females under 16 will be issued a 

license ONLY upon the written order of the Juvenile Court Judge.  

A marriage license expires and becomes invalid at midnight thirty (30) days after the date of issuance. If the service is 

postponed beyond the expiration date, you must return the expired license and purchase a new one.  

You are encouraged to purchase one or more certified copies of your final Marriage Certificate when you apply for your 

license. Certified copies of a Marriage Certificate cost $5.00 + a $.50 mailing charge per transaction.  

MARRIAGE LICENSE: $27.50  

ONLY CASH, CHECK, OR MONEY ORDERS ACCEPTED (NO CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS) 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 
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